Sewing for the play kitchen

The folks at Hawthorne Threads send out the nicest weekly emails. I enjoy reading them. Always chock full of great fabric releases, contests, as well as pattern and tutorial links. At the end of 2016, they shared this tutorial for a child’s reversible apron. I knew I had to make it to give to my niece for her third birthday gift, as well as some matching potholders.

For the play kitchen potholders, I sized them to fit just larger than a toddler’s mitten, which turned out to be about 5.5″ square. They are lined with both cotton batting and Insul-Bright, making them really heat protective. They are oh, so, cute. Being functional is nice, I thought, because as she gets older, they might be useful. Perhaps as coasters, or trivets…

In the meantime, I think sewing these up is a perfect addition to any play kitchen.

img_36661img_36771img_36611

 

Leave a Reply

